How can we help you?


The Preserver of the Universe

As compared to Brahma,Lord Vishnu has countless temples. Lives under the Oceans and is also known as Narayana and Hari Vishnu is often depicted as reclining on a Sheshanaga ( Cobra) – the coiled, many-headed snake floating on cosmic waters that represents the peaceful Universe. The Cobra represents Cosmic energy while water represents eternal bliss. This pose symbolizes the calm and patience in the face of fear and worries that the poisonous snake represents. The message here is that you should not let fear overpower you and disturb your peace.

Vishnu is usually described as having the divine pale blue color of water-filled clouds and as having four arms. He is depicted as holding a padma (lotus flower) in the lower left hand, Kaumodaki ghada-- a unique type of mace used in warfare (a blunt mace with spike on the top) that indicates punishment for indiscipline, in the lower right hand a Panchajanya shankha ( a milky white conch) that spreads the primordial Cosmic sound of Om, in the upper left hand and a discus weapon Sudarshana Chakra (a spinning, disk-like super weapon with 108 serrated edge ) in the upper right hand.

Out of his navel blossoms a lotus, known as Padmanabham. The flower holds Brahma, the God of Creation.

The peace-loving deity of the Hindu Trinity, Vishnu is the Preserver or Sustainer of life with his steadfast principles of order, righteousness and truth. When these values are under threat, Vishnu emerges out of his transcendence to restore peace and order on earth.

It is believed that Lord Vishnu will incarnate himself 10 times in the form of humans on the earth to preserve the good and to destroy the evil. Out of 10 the 9 incarnations have been completed and we are waiting for the 10th incarnation which will take another hundred thousands of Years.

The 10 incarnations or Avatars of Lord Vishnu are :

  1. Matsyavatara ( The Fish)
  2. Kurma (The Tortoise),
  3. Varaaha (The Boar)
  4. Narasimha (Half man & Half Loin)
  5. Vaamana (the dwarf)
  6. Parasurama (the angry warrior With Axe),
  7. Lord Rama (the perfect human)
  8. Lord Krishna (the divine diplomat and statesman),
  9. Lord Balarama (Krishna's brother)
  10. incarnation called the Kalki avatar-- yet to appear.

Some sources consider Buddha as one of the avatars of Vishnu.

The vehicle of Vishnu is the Garuda ( Vulture), the king of the birds. Empowered with the courage and speed to spread the knowledge of the Vedas, Garuda is an assurance of fearlessness at the time of calamity.

Goddess Lakshmi is the consort of Lord Vishnu and is the Goddess of wealth and prosperity (both material and spiritual), fortune, and the embodiment of beauty. Without wealth preservation would not be possible and Lakshmi helps Vishnu preserve the universe.

Goddess Lakshmi is also known as Mahalakshmi. You can recognize her as she is wearing red dress embroidered with golden threads, gold jewellery and sitting on a Pink Lotus Flower. Two elephants stand near her holding lotus flower in their trunks. Out of her four hands in two hands she holds the lotus flower, in one hand she holds the metal pot full of gold and her one hand is in blessing positing and gold coins are seen falling from her palm ( symbolically wealth) as her blessing.

The red dress symbolizes fortune and wealth, Lotus flower symbolizes purity, knowledge, self-realization, and liberation, the Elephants symbolise work, activity and strength, as well as water, rain and fertility for abundant prosperity

She brings good luck and prosperity in life and is believed to protect her devotees from all kinds of misery and money-related sorrows. She presides over eight sources of wealth; means prosperity, fertility, good fortune or good luck, good health, knowledge, strength, progeny and power.

She is often depicted sitting beneath Vishnu, massaging his feet.

Click To Read > The Holy Cow - Why Do Hindu Worship The Cow?

Click To Read > Sacred and Holy River of India - The Ganga or Ganges

Contact Us

We love to here from you